Hiking trail CDF11: Tour of Ban de la Roche

  • © OTVB / Prückner
Duration 3h Length 8 Km Vertical rise 314 m Difficulty Intermediate Departing from Bellefosse
To the start



Bellefosse, Béfoss in patois, was part of the former Ban de la Roche fiefdom which became a Protestant land with seven other villages including Rothau and Fourday after the Reform. The town is overlooked by the ruins of Château de la Roche also known as "zum Stein" or "Steinschloss". It was first mentioned in 1170 with the Stein family. Ban de la Roche is named after the 12th century château. The bishop of Strasbourg had the château demolished in 1469 to put an end to the Rathsamhausen family's acts of violence. View map

Further information

Latitude 48.399907188482
Longitude 7.2121911229028
Elevation 314 m
Duration 3h
Lenght 8 Km
Level of difficulty Intermediate
Car park Farmhouse inn's Parking
Departure point Farmhouse inn Ban de la Roche
Nearest station Fouday - 4,5km



  • Bellefosse

    Swimming pool

    The main attraction in Bellefosse in summer is its outdoor pool. It was built in 1936 by members of the Bellefosse Strasbourg ski club who fell in lov...

  • Bellefosse

    Ferme Auberge du Ban de la Roche

    Specialities: terrines, munster farmhouse cheese, warm blueberry supreme

    Share your experience

    comments powered by Disqus